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1 Can I move loose impediments out of the bunker or penalty area without penalty.

[ ]No
[ ]Yes

2 There is a pitch mark, spike/cleat marks and deer prints in your line on the green. What can you repair before
you putt?
|:| None
|:|Just the pitch mark
|:|AII of them can be repaired

3 You accidentally move your ball or ball marker on the green (e.g. drop your putter on it or kick it by mistake).
Do you:

[ ]Replace it with no penalty

|:|Replace it and take a 1 shot penalty

[ |Play it from where it moved to - without a penalty

[ ]Play it from where it moved to - with a 1 shot penalty

4 Your caddie is permitted to touch the line of the putt on the green.

[ ]JTRUE
[ ]JFALSE

5 Can | leave the flagstick in the hole when putting on the green?

[ ]No
[ ]Yes

6 Touching the sand in a bunker with my club or hand always results in a one stroke penalty.
[ ]True, any touch of the sand results in a one shot penalty
|:|False, generally allowed as long as | am not intentionally touching the sand to test the conditions

7 1 do not have to play out of a bunker. | have the option to drop outside the bunker.

|:|True - with a 2 stroke penalty (or 1 stroke if the bunker is determined to be abnormal course
conditions)

|:|False - you can never drop outside a bunker

8 There is no longer a penalty stroke if | accidentally move my ball while looking for it in the rough.

[ ]False
|:|True
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9 My ball accidentally hits my bag and bounces on the green. There is no penalty, | can play it where
it stops on the green.

|:|True, if my ball accidentally ball bounces off my bag or other object, | can play it as it lies with no penalty
|:|False, if I hit my bag or my caddie I incur a penalty stroke
|:|True, I am allowed to intentionally bounce my ball off my bag during play

10 When taking a drop | can now drop the ball from ankle height instead of shoulder height.
|:|False, it still needs to be dropped from shoulder height
|:|True, the ball can be dropped from any height as long as it is more than 2 inches above the ground
|:|False, it has to be dropped from knee height

11 How many minutes do you have to search for your ball?
|:|5 minutes from the time | start looking for it
|:|3 minutes from the time | start looking for it
|:|As much time as | want if the group behind me is not waiting
|:|3 minutes from the time I played the shot

12 When can a club that is damaged during the round be replaced?
|:| It can only be replaced if I was not responsible for the damage
|:|A club can never be replaced during a round
|:|I can replace a club regardless of how it was damaged

13 Can I continue to use a club if it is damaged during the round?
|:|No, a damaged club can never be used for continued play
|:|Yes, as long as it was damaged during the normal course of play

14 My caddie can line me up when putting but cannot continue to stand behind me as | make the stroke.
|:|My caddie is allowed to line me up and continue to stand behind as | make the stroke
|:|My caddie can never line me up by standing behind me as | prepare to make a stroke

15 My caddie can decide to mark, lift, clean and replace my ball on the putting green.

|:|True

[ False, my caddie is not allowed to mark and lift my ball
|:|False, my caddie is only allowed to mark and lift my ball with specific instruction from me
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16 Can I listen to music while playing in a tournament?
|:|No, it is not permissible to listen to music during a round.
|:|Yes, you can listen to music, news etc. as long as it is not intended to provide an advantage.
|:|Yes, you can listen to music as long as your playing partners agree on the genre

17 If my ball ends up out of bounds (OB) - and local rules permit - | do not need to re-tee and can drop close to
where it went OB including on the fairway closest to where the ball went OB. | am not playing in an elite event

|:|True. If local rules permit, you no longer are required to play your 3rd shot from the tee box. You can play
from where you drop the ball close to where it went OB.

|:|False. If your ball is OB then you always have to go back to where you played your last shot from.

18 If I double hit a ball (e.g. on a chip shot), | have to count the initial shot and also a penalty shot.
|:|True. Essentially this is counting the number of times the ball hits the club.
|:|False. I only count one shot and play the ball from where it lies.

19 If my ball lands in a fairway divot | am required to play from the divot.
|:|False. I can drop my ball away from the divot within one club length, no closer to the hole.
|:|True. I cannot take a drop from a divot except with a one shot penalty (i.e. as an unplayable ball)

20 If my ball goes into a lateral water hazard ("penalty area™) | can drop from the side it entered, or at a point
equidistant from the hole, on the opposite side, even if the opposite side is further from the hole.

|:|True, I can drop at a point on the opposite side of the hazard equidistant from the hole

|:|False - | cannot drop at an equidistant point. | can only drop on the side of the penalty area that the ball
entered, on a line from the pin through the point of entry.
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Golf Rules Quiz - Answer Key

Yes

All of them can be repaired

Replace it with no penalty

True

Yes

False, generally allowed as long as | am not intentionally touching the sand to test the conditions

True - with a 2 stroke penalty (or 1 stroke if the bunker is determined to be abnormal course conditions)
True

True, if my ball accidentally ball bounces off my bag or other object, | can play it as it lies with no penalty
False, it has to be dropped from knee height

3 minutes

It can only be replaced if 1 was not responsible for the damage

Yes, as long as it was damaged during the normal course of play

My caddie can never line me up by standing behind me as | prepare to make a stroke

True

Yes, you can listen to music, sports or news etc. as long as it is not intended to provide an advantage.
True. If local rules permit, you no longer are required to play your 3rd shot from the tee box. You can play
your 4th from where you drop the ball close to where it went OB.

False. | only count one shot and play the ball from where it lies.
True. I cannot take a drop from a divot except with a one shot penalty (i.e. as an unplayable ball)

False - | cannot drop at an equidistant point. I can only drop on the side of the penalty area that the ball
entered, on a line from the pin through the point of entry.
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